Why Arizona’s SB 1070 Supports Injustice


As I read the news, more and more talk about SB 1070 appear. What is it?

Requires officials and agencies of the state and political subdivisions to fully comply with and assist in the enforcement of federal immigration laws and gives county attorneys subpoena power in certain investigations of employers.  Establishes crimes involving trespassing by illegal aliens, stopping to hire or soliciting work under specified circumstances, and transporting, harboring or concealing unlawful aliens, and their respective penalties.   Arizona State Senate Fact Sheet for SB 1070

So, basically, we’re giving the state authorities of Arizona [almost] full rights to deal with illegal immigrants. This is not only discrimination but it is injustice as well. How about those people who have been working the jobs that we don’t want to, 6 days a week, 11 hours a day? Like mowing lawns, landscaping, janitorial work, fast food, etc. I don’t see any of you thick-skulled politicians working these kinds of jobs. Most of the time, there is a white person involved, but he’s more than likely someone higher in power, like a foreman or a manager. Now, do I think we should just open the borders? Absolutely not. But if our country accepted more immigrants at a time on visa’s then we wouldn’t have as many trying to hop the border. Simple as that.

Of course, illegal immigrants bring problems to our country, but so do the people that are legally living here. What about the gangs and corrupt cops that we can’t control?  That just makes it more evident that we do more outside of this country then we do inside of it. If we put more power into bettering our own country then we do with trying to help out and defend, then maybe we would advance.

Let me back up a little bit and restrain myself from going off on a tangent.

Why SB 1070 is Unlawful

This law enables racial profiling. It lets them stop a random person on the street and ask for identification just because they’re Hispanic looking. Let’s say there were a few Caucasian people that were in trouble in another country. This country’s laws are very right wing and allow for the country to search and ID any white-skinned person. You’re on vacation to this country, legally, and you’re expecting to just enjoy yourself and have a relaxing vacation. All of a sudden the local police pull you over, make you get out of your car, and search all of your belongings and then ask you for ID. How would that make you feel? Exactly. I rest my case.

Comments
6 Responses to “Why Arizona’s SB 1070 Supports Injustice”
  1. mct88 says:

    I know Arizona has gotten a lot of flack lately for this law. Unfortunately, when the federal government does not fulfill its duties to protect its nations borders the states do have the right to construct their own laws.
    I read Arizona’s Fact Sheet for this specific law and I see nothing unconstitutional about the statements written.

    They have specified that a legitimate contact must be made and a reasonable suspicion the said person they are dealing with is illegal. This is not racial profiling. If a person has done something in need of being in contact with a police officer then there is legitimate contact obviously, if the person is fidgety can’t look the officer in the eyes, I would ask to see ID and search their car. Why are they so uneasy?!

    There is a process one must go through to become a citizen. If they don’t want to go through the process no citizenship. Easy. If you really want to beomce a US citizen Join the military ranks. My cousin did.

  2. hamlette2002 says:

    They DO do those things in other countries! It’s a risk you take when you travel. I don’t think there’s anything unlawful about it. A cop can pull me over at any time and ask me for my ID, and pull up my record to check for warrants. , and I don’t think that’s unreasonable, either. In fact, when I was living in the Bay Area as a teenager, an officer stopped me and my friends while we were walking (not loitering, not making a big rukus, not brandishing weapons, just walking) and asked for our identification. We were all caucasian, a mix of guys and girls, and only 5 of us. He ran us through his computer, gave back our IDs, and sent us all on our merry way.
    Our country, as a whole, is damaged by the number of illegal immigrants. I understand that their plight is terrible – they have families that they are trying to support wherever it is they’re from and the opportunies in their homeland are few and far between. The statement that we’re taking care of things outside our country is devestatingly inaccurate, however. Illegal immigrants work here, then send the money they earn back to their families, paying no taxes to support our social services, and not spending the money in the US, thereby deflating the economy and driving up inflation. Often, illegal immigrants somehow manage to become recipients of social services, taxing our already-overwhelmed Medicaid, Food Stamps, and AFDC programs.
    How is this an external problem?

  3. unabridgedgirl says:

    I agree with mct88. I have family living in Arizona, and I also have friends on the police force, who say that it’s been taken out of control by the media, which (to me) is no shock.

    I don’t have problems with people wanting to immigrate, but I think it ought to be done legally. My knowledge is fairly limited, but maybe legal immigration needs to be easier? But also having lived in Arizona, I know a lot of resources are taken up by illegal immigrants.

    Either way, it is a sticky situation. A hard situation.

    • unabridgedgirl says:

      PS I was thinking about it, and I don’t want my comment to come off as being completely cold and unfeeling. Like I said, it’s a sticky situation. I DO believe that immigration is completely out of control, especially in AZ. I don’t believe they should be looked down upon just because they want a better life. All the same, I do believe in obtaining status legally.

      • TonyVote says:

        No, I agree with obtaining status legally, and they should open the gates a little wider, so to speak. If we made things just a little easier to become a citizen i think there would be less illegal immigrants.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Life as we know it…. will come together in time. « Why Arizona’s SB 1070 Supports Injustice […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

