“He’d be turning in his grave if he were alive today.”


The statement in the title is recognized as an Irish Bull. To put it in plain english, it’s an oxymoron. There are many quotes like this, people use phrases like it very often. That’s not why I bring it up though. My Irish Bull, has a different meaning.

While on my honeymoon, I stopped by the tattoo parlor where my cousin does all kinds of exotic piercing and tattoos. On a whim, I decided to get a new tattoo. I wanted it to be something symbolizing my heritage as well as my zodiac sign. So, I got a tattoo of a bull with a Leprechaun’s top hat on. It was a custom piece of work that he drew out specifically for me, which gave it sentimental value.

The Irish Bull

All of this being said, I just conquered another item off of my “30 Before 30” list. #20. Get a new Tattoo.

5 and a half years left, 28 things to go.

Comments
6 Responses to ““He’d be turning in his grave if he were alive today.””
  1. Hurray for crossing off an item on your list!

    Did it hurt? I don’t have any tattoos.

    • TonyVote says:

      my first one didn’t hurt so bad, but this one hurt like a bitch. there was a lot of solid color going into it, so he had to basically go over and over on the same spot. luckily it was my cousin so he tried to make it not that painful. the part that hurt the most was the hat on the bull, i guess because it’s closer to a bone or somethin…i don’t know.

  2. Mckenzie says:

    Hey, that’s pretty neat! And I like how you mixed your heritage with your sign. (I’m Irish, too! Yay!)

    Mckenzie
    AKA Used to be Unabridged Girl

    • TonyVote says:

      Thanks! šŸ™‚ Being Irish is awesome.

      so glad you decided to show up on my blog. a few days ago, i went to your blog and when i found that it was deleted, i was like, “oh noooo.” glad you’re still around though.

  3. sarahnsh says:

    I’m part Irish myself and a Taurus, which fits me perfectly because I’m such a bull-head. I think I’d like to get a tattoo on my hip where no one can see it, but I don’t know what I’d do it of. And, I probably wouldn’t spend the money to get it done either, I’m too cheap.

    • TonyVote says:

      this makes you that much more awesome than you already were. The only reason why I got this tattoo was because my cousin works at a tattoo place and only charged me like a 1/3 of the normal cost.

Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

