Nostalgia: Ten of the Worst Songs(1990-2010 Edition)


Alright, I don’t know if you listen to the radio at all, but over the course of a car ride from point a to point b, there are certain songs that I just dread hearing. I’m sure you all have your list of songs, both old and new, that if they burned all copies of that record, you wouldn’t be upset. Over the past couple of weeks, I’ve been brainstorming with a few co-workers to come up with a solid “Top Ten”, or should I say, bottom ten, list of songs that shouldn’t be played ever again. Inspired by Blender’s “The 50 Worst Songs Ever!” This will be my list of worst songs in the past 20 years.

[Related Posts: Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition Part 1)]

10 of the Worst Songs in the past 20 Years

10. My Heart Will Go On – Celine Dion
Now, I’m sure some of you like this song, but I assure you, it’s not because you like the song, it’s because you fell in love with the movie Titanic. Listen to the song through a pair of headphones 3 times and tell me you don’t want to rip your ears off.

9. Barbie Girl – Aqua
Sure, this song might have been cool when it first came out, but to drive around in your car and still sing along? That’s pushin’ it.

8. I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston
The whole Whitney Houston craze was made popular in the ’90’s with her star role in the film “The Bodyguard”. While the film wasn’t half bad, the soundtrack, which was composed of songs that were all sung by her, was horrendous, especially after hearing the CD played front to back at every BBQ.  I’m sure you have that one album that always gets a spin at the family BBQ’s that you think to yourself, “Why the hell are they still listening to this??”

7. Your Body is a Wonderland – John Mayer
This one, I dislike mainly for its lyrics. Who the hell wants to be driving in their car, possibly with kids, and be forced to listen to some whiney biotch sing about some girl’s body being like a “theme park”(Blender,2009)

6. Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice
While I’m sure most of us know at least parts of the song, it’s a song that ruined another great song. Under Pressure by Queen and David Bowie used to be one of my favorites, but it took me 5 years to be able to like “Under Pressure” again. Now-a-days, when I hear the opening beats to the song, I get extremely relieved when Queen starts to sing.

5. Shake Your Bon Bon – Ricky Martin
This may just be on the list because I dislike Ricky Martin. It was a toss-up between this song of his, and “She Bangs” but since William Hung from American Idol performed it, I actually like it.

4. Don’t Cry for Me Argentina – (as performed by) Madonna
This song has been performed by 30 people over the past 22 years since it’s release as part of the musical “Evita” by Andrew Lloyd Webber. Madonna’s rendition was the worst. Each time I hear this song, I wish I was deaf.

3. Macarena – Los Del Rio
I know, you’re probably thinking “But that song’s really fun to dance to!!” or “I used to love that song” Every time I go to a formal party where there’s dancing involved at one point or another, I hear this song. When I booked the DJ for my wedding, he asked if there was any songs we didn’t want played and if there were any that we wanted him to play. Immediately after he said “didn’t want played”, both my wife and I shouted, almost simultaneously “Macarena!!” I’d rather dance to the Cha Cha Slide.

2. The Cheeky Song(Touch My Bum) – The Cheeky Girls (Here’s a link, I’d post the video on my blog but I might ruin the blog. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7AFZXgjrgg)
Alright, maybe there’s someone out there that wants to touch your ass, but this song makes me want to punch my speakers. These girls aren’t really that attractive either. I never heard the song before until I started making this list. One of my co-workers suggested this song, and rightfully so. It was close to getting the number one song, but I think a lot of you will agree with me on this last song.

Check out Who’s Number 1 behind the jump.

1. Chicken Noodle Soup – DJ Webstar featuring Young B
I’m at a loss for words for this one…It may very well be the song that I hate the most EVER!!

30 Days of Truth

Day 9: Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

This seems to be the story of my life. I’m gonna have to settle for just one person, for the sake of truthfulness. I’m gonna go with my buddy Jim. Him and I were friends for nearly 13 years before we drifted away. It was mainly because of his wife being a stubborn biotch and not getting along with my wife. After they had gotten married, things took a turn for the worse. Now, I know it shouldn’t affect my relationship with Jim, but it did. As much as we both didn’t want it to, it happened. Like my father always told me , “friends come and go, but family is forever.”

(1) Something you hate about yourself. (2) Something you love about yourself. (3)Something you have to forgive yourself for. (4) Something you have to forgive someone for. (5) Something you hope to do in your life.(6) Something you hope you never have to do. (7) Someone who has made your life worth living for. (8) Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit. (9) Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted. (10) Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.(11)Something people seem to compliment you the most on.(12)Something you never get compliments on. (13) A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.) (14)A hero that has let you down. (letter) (15)Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it. (16)Someone or something you definitely could live without. (17) A book you’ve read that changed your views on something. (18) Your views on gay marriage.(19) What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?(20)views on drugs and alcohol. (21) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do? (22)Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.(23)Something you wish you had done in your life. (24) Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)(25) The reason you believe you’re still alive today. (26) Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why? (27) What’s the best thing going for you right now? (28)What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do? (29) Something you hope to change about yourself. And why. (30) A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself .

Comments
25 Responses to “Nostalgia: Ten of the Worst Songs(1990-2010 Edition)”
  1. You have horrible taste in music! Not all of those are bad! I agree with your top. I hate the Macarena- that was really popular around my prom time. And Celine and Whitney? They are wonderful- but I am a girl and as a girl, can never underestimate the power of a car music (AKA- music that you can sing on top of your lungs in the car with the windows rolled up!) 🙂

    • TonyVote says:

      I wouldn’t necessarily say I have bad taste in music. This is just ten songs from a list of maybe like 50, tops, of songs that I don’t like. I can listen to (even if it’s just me tolerating the song) just about anything.

      What 3 songs that I haven’t listed, would be in your top ten?

      • Innagodadavida…my Dad used to play the long version over and over and over.
        some country would be on the list, I can’t think of any songs off the top of my head right now…(I have a headache)

  2. Jerome says:

    I pretty much agree with everything except Whitney Houston and the Bodyguard. To each his own but I was suprised she was on that list with that song and album. Vocally she was at the top of her game and hasn’t been beaten since (again just my opinion). The only downside to it was that since then almost every female vocalist has tried to match or copy her and we have had to endure the ear aches.

    • TonyVote says:

      Now, she’s on the list because I can’t stand that album because it was overplayed in my youth. I won’t take away the fact that she is extremely talented.

  3. sarahnsh says:

    I agree with all of these picks, though some of them I haven’t heard of and I’d rather not check them out to find out lest the terrible music get stuck in my head. Bad songs are always the ones that get stuck repeating in your head like a broken record.

  4. Marliz3e says:

    I agree!! Fully…
    Ice ice baby is my MOST hated song, although I can stand the Glee version. The rest [the last two I have never heard of, but I am sure they are awful] are songs that will get skipped the moment they hit my playlist!

  5. mct88 says:

    my family says family is forever too!

    and yes i most agree with those worst songs ever-except the macarena sorry. i just laugh at people who can’t do the moves 😀 more than entertaining!

  6. redriverpak says:

    Pretty Hideous list ya got there! That is some Baaaaaadddd music! 🙂

    • TonyVote says:

      Sarah: yea, you’re better off never hearing some of them, but if you ever do, remember this list.

      Marliz3e: I’ll have to search for the glee version. It sounds interesting.

      Mct88: that’s the only time I ever tolerate the Macarena…it is very funny watching people who can’t dance, try to dance.

      Redriverpak: yea, I felt that everyone needed to be warned.

  7. Ice Ice Baby and the Macarena always make me laugh.

  8. Mckenzie says:

    OH MY. Such hate for many of these songs, especially the Barbie song and Your Body is a Wonderland. ESPECIALLY Your Body is a Wonderland. When it comes on the radio, I want to upchuck. Ew. Great list. Totally agree.

    • TonyVote says:

      One thing i really hate about the song is how he makes promises he literally cannot keep. Like, it’s physically impossible.

      You tell me where to go and
      Though I might leave to find it
      I’ll never let your head hit the bed
      Without my hand behind it

      Now, how the hell is he going to be in two places at once….he’s no superhero.

  9. I agree with every song that you listed here! Yick!! Thanks for dropping by my blog earlier!! I’m adding yours to my little google reader. Have a swell Wednesday!!

  10. Janis says:

    I had an awesome time reading your blog… funny how we (Filipinos) were so into the Macarena back in the 90’s… I mean, everyone knows the steps and we could sing the song with perfect lyrics! Hahaha!!

    I liked Aqua’s Barbie Girl (I DON’T KNOW WHY!) LOL

    • TonyVote says:

      I’m very glad you enjoy my blog. Actually, i’m very happy that you enjoy it. I try to make it enjoyable for everyone, though sometimes I not eveyrone enjoys it.

      The [Macarena] song was a craze in America as well. Lots of people knew the dance steps and some of the lyrics. For the people that didn’t know the dance steps, it was hilarious watching them try to follow along with everyone else.

  11. Aditya Mehta says:

    “when I hear the opening beats to the song, I get extremely relieved when Queen starts to sing.”

    HAHAHA

    “Each time I hear this song, I wish I was deaf.”

    HEHEHE

    “I’d post the video on my blog but I might ruin the blog.”

    BWAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Cool list, man… I really liked it!

  12. Len Steal my sunshine is up there for me!

  13. Andx_7 says:

    Boy, you take music way too seriously. I usually don’t care about the lyrics i it’s catchy and fun to dance i don’t consider them bad. yeah some of them are really bad, but i’m guessing your a white dude who cannot keep beat and dance that said chicken noodle soup is an awesome song. And i know lot of great dancers have danced to that beat… that just my opinion.

  14. Lawanna Skarupa says:

    Earache can be really annoying but i usually take some pain killers and antibiotics to manage it..

    Please do check into our online site
    http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/wheatgrass-juice-benefits/

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Life as we know it…. will come together in time. « Songs that should just fade and never be played. […]

  2. […] die) so fast you may want to re-visit. You can check out the first installment of this series here. Without further ado, I bring to […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

