I Want to Party like it’s 1999


People seem to get nostalgic about a lot of things they weren’t so crazy about the first time around.  Nostalgia really comes around after you’re in your mid 20’s. You’ve had some experiences with certain things and people by now and you sometimes miss those things or people.

I was searching for something online, I can’t put my finger on what it was exactly because I became totally side tracked. I stumbled upon a website called In the 90s. I know, what you’re thinking…”Why are you feeling nostalgic about the 90’s it’s barely 20 years ago. The creator of the site puts it perfectly.

The fact is, that as the lifespan of fads gets shorter and shorter, looking back gets easier. If you’re already two or three big fads past the last big fad, than anything can seem pretty old. The more involved with fashion or music fads you are, the more obvious it seems to you.

There are really two reasons for nostalgia of the 90s already. The first is that the majority of people like to look back a few years, as reference to see where we’ve been, to recognize where we’re going. Then we all laugh at how naive we’ve been.

The second, and perhaps more valid reason, is that people tend to view their younger childhood until the end of high school years as a great time (even if it didn’t seem so at the time). If you’re 20 or so right now, 5 years seems like a long time, 10 years seems even longer. In 1990 you’d be in grade school still, musically influenced by the New Kids on the Block, Vanilla Ice, MC Hammer. Think of how pasee they seem already.

So, while on the site I ran into a lot of great fads that I enjoyed throughout my childhood. One of the few that I really enjoyed, besides music obviously, was Pogs. Even though the craze came about in the early 90’s this “game” actually dates back to the 1920’s in Hawaii. The kids would take the juice caps from a company who made Passion fruit, Orange and Guava juice containers(P O G), decorate them and play the game known as POGS. A teacher in 1991 taught her class this game from her childhood with little knowledge that it would start an international fad. To read the full story click here.

This brings me to the little game of TAG that I’m involved in. I remember back during my freshmen year doing surveys much like this one on my blog constantly. Anyway, I was tagged by Sideways Thinking, who was tagged by Every Girl’s Corner. Sorry for all the linking, I just like to support the blogs I read. Here goes my little “survey” or “meme” if you will.

1. If you could have any superpower, what would you have? Why?

I’d have to go with the power of being invisible. The power of being invisible would have to come with an agreement that everything I touch becomes invisible and I would have to have some sort of mental switch for that and my all around invisibility. I think it’s more or less that I would love to just be a fly on the wall, or invisible, and be able to hear what goes on when I’m not around. It’s not that I care what they think or say, I’m just curious. That brings me to another power I wish I had, the power to read other people’s thoughts. That would be an amazing power as long as the person holding it didn’t abuse it.

2. Who is your style icon?

Well, I’m a guy. Yes, there are guys that have a very good sense of style, but it’s not a common occurrence.  I’m not one of those rare guys who has a sense of style. My style is more-so laid back then anything. I do try to make sure the colors I’m wearing don’t clash but that’s as far as my style goes.

3. What is your favorite quote?

As you saw in my post yesterday, “Friends come and go, but family is forever.” – My Pops.

4. What is the best compliment you’ve ever received?

“You have the potential to go far but I just need to apply myself.” while that’s a mixed compliment, I took it as a compliment.

5. What playlist/cd is in your CD player/iPod right now?

My mix on my iPhone entitled “Drive!” It’s full of songs that I like to sing along to while driving. I love to sing…so I’ll sing at any opportunity I can, well, when I know the words at least.

6. Are you a night owl or a morning person?

Night owl, without a doubt. I hate waking up in the morning. I love sleep, but I hate going to sleep early. I’ve worked the Closing shift at work since my senior year of high school(I’m now 24), therefore I’m still full of energy when I get out of work at 10-10:30.

7. Do you prefer dogs or cats?

I want to say cats, but as time goes on I am becoming more of a dog person.

8. What is the meaning behind your blog name?

Life as we know it….. Will come together in time. It’s another quote I live by. I may have heard it somewhere, but I don’t remember. I think I may have made it up. It’s just that life has its ways of coming together, no matter how hard the hardship is, or how crazy your life may be, I believe that life will come together at one point or another and happiness will follow.

And now it’s my turn to tag other bloggers to complete one of these as well, that is the point in Tag right?

Rub Hub: Tip Me or Else.

Sunshine and Starlight

The Tiny Tin Can

Late to the Party and since there’s two of you, you should both do one.

ah, well, that’s all I have time for now. if anyone feels the need to do one, consider yourself tagged by me.

30 Days of Truth

Day 10: Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.

I don’t believe in letting go of people or wishing that I didn’t know someone. People are brought into your life for a reason. People leave your life for a reason. If someone is not meant to be in my life then we’ll probably just drift apart or just get into an argument that ends the relationship. I don’t try to encourage ending a relationship with someone. Everyone has their purpose in your life. They might be there to help you grow, to help you learn, or maybe to help you realize things about yourself that you never knew. Everyone has their own purpose in life, and sometimes that purpose may be to come into your life and help you through something and then go on to the next person. You just never know.

(1) Something you hate about yourself. (2) Something you love about yourself. (3)Something you have to forgive yourself for. (4) Something you have to forgive someone for. (5) Something you hope to do in your life.(6) Something you hope you never have to do. (7) Someone who has made your life worth living for. (8) Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit. (9) Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted. (10) Someone you need to let go, or wish you didn’t know.(11)Something people seem to compliment you the most on.(12)Something you never get compliments on. (13) A band or artist that has gotten you through some tough ass days. (write a letter.) (14)A hero that has let you down. (letter) (15)Something or someone you couldn’t live without, because you’ve tried living without it. (16)Someone or something you definitely could live without. (17) A book you’ve read that changed your views on something. (18) Your views on gay marriage.(19) What do you think of religion? Or what do you think of politics?(20)views on drugs and alcohol. (21) Your best friend is in a car accident and you two got into a fight an hour before. What do you do? (22)Something you wish you hadn’t done in your life.(23)Something you wish you had done in your life. (24) Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. (Just post the titles and artists and letter)(25) The reason you believe you’re still alive today. (26) Have you ever thought about giving up on life? If so, when and why? (27) What’s the best thing going for you right now? (28)What if you were pregnant or got someone pregnant, what would you do? (29) Something you hope to change about yourself. And why. (30) A letter to yourself, tell yourself EVERYTHING you love about yourself .

Comments
9 Responses to “I Want to Party like it’s 1999”
  1. Marliz3e says:

    Thanx for the link!!! Like your quote =]

  2. I immediately was attracted to this because of the 90s link.
    I loved the 90s, and consider it the best so far. Fair enough, I’m only 20 but to me, my childhood wouldn’t have been the same if I wasn’t born in the 90s.
    Interesting fact about POGS, I didn’t know that. Incidentally, I remember aliens that could stick to ceilings and of course the mass pokemon craze and that brief period when Digimon tried to take over. Yeah like that was going to happen.
    Enjoyed the post. =)

    • TonyVote says:

      LOL I remember the aliens that could stick to the ceilings. they were so great! and the pokemon craze, yeah, i was involved. i had the game boy game and hundreds of trading cards. I got into so many fights with my brother over them stupid cards. ugh!! thanks for stopping by.

  3. redriverpak says:

    I am still stuck in the 80’s…. give me a few more decades and the 90’s will start to click for me! I am putting a link to your blog on my page. Have a good one!

    • TonyVote says:

      still stuck in the 80s huh? what fad or toy did you like best from the 80s? and don’t worry, i’ll probably be reminiscing about the 90’s still in a decade or so.

  4. mct88 says:

    Not joking when you mentioned 90s fads I IMMEDIATELY thought of POGS!
    Haha, AWESOME!

    yeah invisible would’ve been my 2nd choice.

  5. sittingpugs says:

    I get nostalgic about the 90s because I can recall with greater clarity what it was like then vs. the 80s, which was when I was in the first decade of my existence. The 90s had a particular aesthetic about it that is very hard to duplicate.

    My So-Called Life, Clueless, and Reality Bites. There was something in the cinematography and set design of the 90s that makes it unrepeatable.

    Fashion trends get resurrected and re-interpreted, mise-en-scene doesn’t..not in the same way.

  6. Lorraine says:

    This is the second post I’ve read about pogs this week. I guess people are missing those 90’s! 🙂

    And aaah!!! pressure to blog. Thanks for tagging us though. I’ll see if I threaten Rox with something, so she’ll participate.

    Lor

Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

