Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition)[part 1]


Back by popular demand, I bring to you, the second installment of a new blog series: Nostalgia. Good thing you’re catching on now, because you’re in for a trip down memory lane. I’m gonna take you by in my  ’87 Cutlass Supreme (A.K.A. the car that wouldn’t die) so fast you may want to re-visit. You can check out the first installment of this series here. Without further ado, I bring to you…..

Songs I Miss

(Video Game Edition)[Part 1]

This particular list will consist of songs that I miss. Song’s that I wish they would play more often, or maybe I should just dust off the old gaming systems and pop in the game which includes a song of choice.

[Caution: Not all songs are safe for work, especially #6.]

10. Kaiser Chiefs – “I Predict a Riot“(2005)
If you’re anything like me and you have either a love for music, or a love for video games(in my case both), then I’m sure you had to have tried out Guitar Hero, or its counterpart, Rock Band. The one I speak of specifically is Guitar Hero 3: Legends of Rock . It was the first time I owned one of the band emulating video games that lets feel like you’re part of the band. I love to sing and for years I wished that I was in a band. So when they introduced Vocals to the Guitar Hero franchise, I was thrilled and had to have it. When looking at the band name Kaiser Chiefs, you may think of their more popular song, “Ruby“,(click the link for the vid). One of my favorite songs by them, however is “I Predict a Riot.” Which I believe might have been a song you had to buy, I’m not completely sure.

9. Motorhead – “Ace of Spades“(1980)
Let me jump over to another video game if I may. One that is a little older, but not by much. Tony Hawk Pro Skater 3 came out back in 2001. It was an instant success, especially in my eyes. I had been a huge fan of the Tony Hawk Pro Skater video game series and I was really excited to hear that they were going to be upgrading THPS 2 and making a 2nd sequel. Ace of Spades, while it was a huge success back in 1980 when it first came out,  was introduced to me through the THPS 3, sorry Motorhead. I instantly fell in love with this song as well as many others on the soundtrack of the game.

8. Gorillaz – “Clint Eastwood“(2001)
This isn’t a song found in any video game, but I mainly associate it with video games. (Notice a trend here? I think I’ll just make this the Video Game Edition of “Nostalgia.)It was my the end of my first year in high school, second year in my new town, I was 14 years old. I was no longer the new kid, but I hung out with the new kid because I was there once, and he had all the new video games and technology. So, of course I thought he was pretty awesome, though most people thought he was a nerd at first. We would hang out in his room on the weekends listening to Gorillaz and playing Final Fantasy X and Grand Theft Auto III on the PS2 and Max Payne on the PC. We had many fun weekends that summer.

7. Slick Rick – “Children’s Story“(1989)
When I first heard this song, I was in 8th grade and my English teacher gave us the lyrics and had us follow along as part of her “Poetry Lesson Plan.” That was probably one of the brightest ideas by an English teacher, that I know of so far. Can you think of any better ideas to get kids to pay attention and learn? Anyway, I then got into the song about 5 years later when I bought Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas. This game followed it’s predecessors by allowing you chose which radio station you wanted to listen to while driving around an automobile. I can’t lie, I had the rap/hip hop station on a lot mainly because I relate “poppin caps” and “stealin cars” to rap/hip hop music thanks to 2Pac, Biggie Smalls, and NWA.

6. Brentafloss – “Mega Man 2 Title Song(w/Lyrics)
I could totally have saved this song for any of spots 1-5, but I have better things in store for that area. I don’t know if any of you have heard of Brentafloss, he’s a singer/songwriter who gained popularity through you tube and screwattack.com for adding his lyricism to video game theme songs. It all started back about 3 years ago. I like this song primarily because Mega Man 2 is what got me started on playing the game. So, this theme song is awesome in my eyes. Put lyrics to the theme song and you have a mind-blowing experience on your hands…Move over sex! Just like ThoughtsAppear, and Roxanne and Lorraine talk about sex pancakes all the time, I figured I’d name this one Theme Song Sex. Sorry gals, I had to throw the word sex at the end because “Sex Theme Song” or “Sex Songs” really didn’t feel like a right fit, I’m sure you could understand why.

Well, folks, that’s the end of part 1. I promise to bring you Part 2 within the week. I’m just a little busy with school and work lately. Plus, I have a few doctors appointments in the middle of the week.(Don’t worry, Everything should be fine.)

Thanks for stopping by. Do you agree/disagree with my selections so far? Let me know. Did I miss a song that you feel should be on the list? Maybe I can add it. Enlighten me.

Comments
6 Responses to “Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition)[part 1]”
  1. Lorraine says:

    I am not a video game player, but I found this tons amazing. And the Gorillaz song gave me a nostalgia moment too! AHH. So weird.

    I sort of agree that Sex Theme Songs or Sex Songs isn’t really what you’re going for. Though, you might attract readers. 😉

    On another note, go eat Sex Pancakes. Seriously.

    Lor

  2. I played Mega Man back in the day! And I agree with Lorraine…have you had the pancakes yet?

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] [Related Posts: Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition Part 1)] […]

  2. […] Alright folks, like I promised, Part 2 of Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition) is here. You can check out part one here. […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

