Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition) [Part 2]


Alright folks, like I promised, Part 2 of Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition) is here. You can check out part one here.

5. Rob Zombie – Dragula (Hot Rod Herman Mix) (1998)

For months and months, I played this game trying to become an elite racer just to realize that I was only good at the game if Dragula was playing. Something about that song just got me “in the zone.”  When Gran Turismo 2 came out right around Christmas of ’99, I wanted the game so bad! However, it wasn’t until my birthday, the following April, that I actually got the game.  It was the most realistic game of its time, and still to this day, no other racing simulator can come close.

4. Kansas – Carry On My Wayward Son(1976)
I’m a singer. Let’s get that fact out in the open. I love to sing. Whether it’s karaoke, on stage with a band, or just with a group of friends singing along to the radio. I love singing. It brings peace to my soul. Some people have painting, some people have writing, and even others may have alcohol or drugs. I have singing. Carry On My Wayward Son was a song my mom would always sing to me when it came on the radio as a child. I guess I obtained my vocal abilities from my mother and uncles. They all had a passion for music and singing. Whenever I played Guitar Hero 2 at a friend’s house, even if I was playing the guitar, I would sing along to this song. What a classic.

3. Quarashi – Stick Em Up(1999)
This was one of those games that I only played because I liked the music that they played in the background. ATV Off Road Fury 2. I bought the game at CVS for maybe $10. At the time, I didn’t have a computer and didn’t know where to find the names of half of these songs. This song fascinated me simply because it was unlike anything of its time. Icelandic Rappers. Who else can you think of that are from Iceland and are famous rappers? This is a challenge folks.

2. Millencolin – No Cigar(2000)
Tony Hawk Pro Skater was famous for adding punk-rock anthems to its game. No Cigar is no exception. Skating around the School level of Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2 while getting knocked over by the rent-a-cops, this song was fun as background music and really associated well with the skateboarding lifestyle. When I got my first cd burner this song was included on just about every other CD I made.

Read After the jump for the Number 1 spot.

1. Anthrax and Public Enemy – Bring The Noise(1991)
While this song was so incredibly catchy, it gave such good background music to skating up half pipes and trying to keep your balance in Tony Hawk Pro Skater 2. As you can tell, I played a lot of this game when I was younger. My brother and I would compete for days on end to find out who the best virtual skater was. He was good at keeping his balance up on the grind, while I was good at stringing tricks together from a 360 McTwist, to a manual, then nollie up onto the rail and grind around that for a while. It was inevitable that he would win from time to time, but I’d have to say that I was the better gamer when it came to skateboarding games. I won’t bring up Madden, because he used to kick my butt in that game all the time.

So there you have it. The conclusion to Songs I Miss, the video game edition. Make sure to stick around because coming up, I have a fresh top ten list. The next topic: Songs featured in a movie or on its soundtrack.

Comments
4 Responses to “Nostalgia: Songs I Miss(Video Game Edition) [Part 2]”
  1. sittingpugs says:

    Have you ever heard of OCRemix? It’s a site devoted to fans of remixed video-game music…and for remixers themselves.

Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

