Time for a Change?


So, over the past few days I’ve come to a few conclusions: 1) that I need to remove all references of “The Cheeky Girls” or “Cheeky Girls” from my blog, 2) that I need to change the name of my blog from “Life As We Know It…” And c) that my blog has lacked some content filled posts.

Let me explain these in order. First things first. While I appreciate the traffic my blog has got because of “The Cheeky Girls”, it’s not the type of traffic I want or need. I don’t want people coming to my blog because they think that I’ll be showing pictures of or talking about the Cheeky Girls. Out of the 242 time someone has come across my blog because of a search term,  The fucking Cheeky Girls or something related to them was the term searched for that brought a total of 165 viewers to my blog. That’s 68% of all the traffic brought in by search terms. A little absurd if you ask me.

Next up, my blog title. Recently I found out there’s going to be a movie called “Life As We Know It”. This is a wee bit of a problem. Now, I pose this question to all of my readers and those who stumble upon my blog: Should I change the name of my blog or just keep it and ride it out? I’ve weighed out the pros and cons. If the movie is a success, I may want to keep the name and maybe blog about the movie and post some pictures and such. Even if the movie does great it may end up being like the Cheeky Girls where everyone is searching for “Life as We Know It movie” or quotes or whatever. Then I’ll just get some more unwanted traffic.

Lastly, there’s my post content. I’ve been working on it, hence this longer, content filled post. I feel this is the easiest issue to discuss.

What do you think folks, should I remove all references of the cheeky girls and change my blog name or should I just shut up and deal?

Comments
4 Responses to “Time for a Change?”
  1. Amy says:

    The way I see it, traffic is traffic. What do you care how someone found your blog? A fraction of those that found you by searching for something completely unrelated may stay and become a loyal reader. Crazier things have happened.
    But, that being said, it’s totally a personal decision. I can understand your desire to not be misunderstood or unfairly lumped into a category just because of some movie.
    How’s that for giving you an answer that really isn’t an answer at all? 🙂

  2. mairzeebp says:

    I say go with your gut and what makes you comfortable but I agree with Amy. Traffic is traffic. Sure, would it be ideal that everyone who stumbled upon our blogs were there because they sought us out and what we had to say on a specific topic? Absolutely but think of this….some of the best things that have happened in my life were the things I never expected…not planned….just stumbled upon or fell into. Your blog could be that for someone…a bunch of someones. Again, do what you feel is best for you but, I believe it is entirely possible that someone could “accidentally” find your blog and discover you are one of the best things they never knew existed. 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my earlier post, Time for a Change?, I talked about not knowing if I wanted to keep my blog name, along with posts containing the girls […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

