Change is Imminent


Remember when I talked about how things are not going to change around my blog. Well, things are going to change in my household life, and it kinda sucks. While Reese and I were getting ready to leave this morning, the dog would not leave her alone. Our little Pom was all gated away from the rest of the house(in the kitchen) while we were sleeping, so of course she’s gonna be hyperactive. Isabel is constantly biting at Reese’s feet and her pants when she’s trying to put them on.(I’ll try not to give TMI, :-D)

Reese broke down today. She’s been going through a lot of family ordeals and the dog was just adding to it. Now, don’t start getting all concerned here. Izzy was, in no shape or form, harmed or hurt. She just can’t deal with the change of having the little hyperactive puppy around while she’s going through all the other mess. Today she said she wanted to get rid of the dog. This makes me kinda upset, but I know it’s for the best. Our work shifts overlap one another, so there’s a time where Isabel is left alone for 7 hours at a time. and on Mondays it’s 11 hours. We have no time to train her. We have little time to show her lovin’. It’s probably in our best interest to get her into a home of someone who can train her and raise her better. Don’t get me wrong, I’m no quitter. I believe that once you start something, you should finish it.(Most of the time)

It’s going to be really hard to let this little puppy go. Granted, we’ve only had the dog for a little over a week now, but I fell in love fast. I love Isabel almost as much as I love Reese.(I know she reads my blog from time to time, so i wanted to make sure to emphasize a true statement to earn some brownie points) I just think that it may be best if we put her into a family that has more time on their hands.

What do you think? Should I try to stick it out and train the dog? I mean, it’s only 7 hours. It’s just as if it were part of a family who had kids that go to school and parents that work 9-5. It’s just later at night. Have you ever had to let go of something or someone who you really didn’t want to part with? If so, how did you cope?

Comments
8 Responses to “Change is Imminent”
  1. Heart says:

    Tony, I feel so much love for the wife and the dog.. So much warmth and concern.. But I feel like you know the answer in your heart.. If it is overwhelming, I think you should just give yourself a break.. I know you want to give Izzy a great life, treat her with love and make her a part of your family, BUT, maybe, this is not the time for you and her. Worst case scenario, if you end up keeping her to care for her, you might stretch yourself so much that you might hurt your relationship with Reece. Sorry, if this got personal for me, but I am just speaking my heart this time and my experience on letting go. Honestly.
    Good luck on whatever you decide.
    Rachana.

  2. TonyVote says:

    Rachana, it’s completely okay to get emotional. I appreciate your words of wisdom. I can tell they come from the heart. All day I was in another world. I was torn apart from the decision I know I have to make. I’m know I’m going to feel empty for the following few weeks after.

  3. sittingpugs says:

    Second worst case scenario if you decide to carry on and see how things go: Isabel will become lonely, feel neglected, and rather than try to release some accumulated energy, she’ll seek out negative attention.

    Animals (mammals) are like us humans in this way…sometimes being criticized, lectured, spat on, even slapped is better than being ignored.

    If you’ve already considered finding Isabel another home, it means you’re preparing yourself to let her go. That which would be in her best interest would also be in yours.

    • TonyVote says:

      You’re absolutely right. I am preparing myself to let her go. It’s not going to be an easy task to complete. I’d definitely would rather to be slapped then to be ignored. I hate being ignored the most. Great analogy of the subject. It does make things a little easier.

  4. Lorraine says:

    I think you have the right idea by putting the dog’s best interest first.

    I’m not a pet person, I’ve never been the type to get attached or to feel the need to keep pets, but even I can see that you care for the puppy. πŸ™‚

    I’m sure you’ll make the right choice for the pup and maybe in the future, when the time is right, you can try again with another.

    Best of luck!

    • TonyVote says:

      I’ve always considered myself a selfless person, not to toot my own horn or anything(in all seriousness.) I would really hate the dog to grow up and become miserable.

  5. unabridgedgirl says:

    I think that if it’s causing tension, no matter how small, in the house, it’s not a good thing. And it’s probably not fair to the puppy being left alone so much and for so long. Puppies need a lot of attention and care, and if they aren’t trained properly when they’re young, it’s going to show when they’re an adult. Give yourself a break as well as Reese. It’ll work out. πŸ™‚

    • TonyVote says:

      It definitely does cause a little bit of tension is the house, and it’s not fair to the dog or us. We can’t give the puppy enough attention and that’s one thing Reese and I agree on. Isabel needs to be with a family or single person in order to receive the attention she needs. Reese and I just need to get the process moving. This isn’t a situation we should procrastinate on.

Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

