Top 10 Halloween Movies


Recently, Marliz3e over at Every Girls Corner, had reached 650 comments. With that milestone, the 650th commenter was selected to be a guest blogger. I was that chosen one. So, if you don’t mind, take the time to check out that post, and while you’re there check out the rest of her blog. She’s a really sweet and talented girl who really knows how to make a post jump out at you.

Well, I figured I would do a crossover and have this post relate to my guest post. To keep with the flow of Halloween, here’s my Top 10 Favorite Halloween Movies.

10. Amityville Horror (1978)
A family moves into a perfectly nice house in Amityville, N.Y. Then things begin to happen: black goo comes out of the toilet, flies appear (does this have anything to do with the toilet?), a voice tells a priest to “get out,” and something with glowing red eyes peers through the windows at night. Sure it was an “Exorcist” rip-off, but it was “based on a true story!” That’s got to count for something.

9. Dawn of the Dead (2004)
A remake of George Romero’s classic (#8 on the list) Same basic story, but updated. As the world is over-run with the undead, a group of survivors find refuge in a shopping mall. This time around, the zombies don’t shuffle they haul ass. And they don’t stop until they’re in little pieces. While it lacks the satire of the original, it’s bigger budget means more thrills. Oddly the best, and scariest scenes in the film happen as the closing credits roll. Just hang in there.

8. Dawn of the Dead
Director George Romero single handedly created the zombie genre with “Night of the Living Dead.” But it was the sequel, “Dawn of the Dead” that he really cranked the scares up exponentially by featuring some of the goriest scenes ever committed to film. It’s no wonder the film was banned in 17 countries.

7. Evil Dead II
Sam Raimi is now a famous Hollywood director, but long before he directed “Spiderman” he all but invented the horror/comedy genre with this 1987 classic. The film features cult-movie icon Bruce Campbell as a hapless hero defending himself from hordes of demons. Ever been on a roller coaster? That’s what watching “Evil Dead II” is like — lots of screams.

6. The Shining.
This movie creeped me out for days. I was always afraid someone was going to chop an ax through my door.

5. Halloween series
Michael Myers doesn’t scare me as much as the other two murders listed below. Maybe it’s just because his story is so much different. Still one of my favs though.

4. Friday the 13th Series
Probably one of the best slasher films of all time. How the hell is Jason always so fast. He doesn’t run, yet he’s always around the next corner or right behind you the next time you look back.

3. A Nightmare on Elm Street series.
I had nightmares for weeks after watching the first one, but as I got older, I always wanted to have claws coming out my fingertips.

2. Beetle Juice.
A film by Tim Burton in which a recently deceased couple (Alec Baldwin and Geena Davis) try to repel a family (Jeffrey Jones, Catherine O’Hara and Winona Ryder) from their old New England home. After finding that their methods of scaring the family aren’t working, the couple look for help in the services of “Bio-Exorcist” Betelguese (Michael Keaton).

1. Hocus Pocus.
Made in 1993, this film stars a younger Sarah Jessica Parker(Pre-Sex in the City), Bette Midler, and Thora Birch(who later starred in American Beauty.) A fantastic movie, if you haven’t seen it, I recommend you go and find it now.

 

Comments
20 Responses to “Top 10 Halloween Movies”
  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

    “All work and no play makes Jack a dull boy.”

  2. Amy says:

    #7 & #8 – awesome movies!
    And The Shining will always be a favorite of mine.
    Great list!

  3. whatsnormality says:

    Dude, it never occurred to me that I haven’t seen any of these movies. This halloween it’s gonna happen.

  4. unabridgedgirl says:

    Hahahah…oh my goodness, I haven’t watched Hocus Pocus in years! MY LUCKY RAT’S TAIL! RIGHT WHERE I LEFT IT! Bwahahahha.

    • TonyVote says:

      hahaha, my sister used to sing the song from the movie all the time, the one that goes…”Come little children, I’ll take thee away….” I can’t remember the rest, it’s been a while since i’ve actually watched the movie.

  5. S. says:

    I have just wandered on over here to let you know that Mon the Highlander is so overjoyed by your Ode to him that he has not stopped saying the word ‘gnurgle’ since I read it to him. I just know that he will write an Ode in response, so I will let you know when he does.

    This is a nice list of Horrors. I would have to say that ‘Dawn of the Dead’ is one of my favourites from this list, as is ‘The Shining’, and ‘A Nightmare on Elm Street’. I have never seen ‘Hocus Pocus’. I will have to look out for it, now!

    • TonyVote says:

      Well, let mon know that I’m overjoyed that he liked my ode and that I’m really looking forward to his ode. When he finishes my ode, can you ask him if he minds if I feature his ode in an upcoming post? I ask because I’m sure he’ll write a wonderful ode!

      Hocus Pocus is a Disney movie so it’s not quite as scary as the others listed. It’s on this list because I’ve really liked that movie since I was a kid.

      • S. says:

        I have passed your message on to Mon and he has now added ‘spnooooogggggle’ to the ‘gnurgle’ noises he is making right now. This means that he is somewhere on the other side of elated by your words, and I can only imagine that it also means that he would be honoured to have his ode to you featured in your upcoming post. I will let you know, once he has settled down enough to begin producing said Ode.

        Thank you for the info on Hocus Pocus. I guess it’s never too late to watch a Disney movie, so I will still track it down! LOL

  6. whatsnormality says:

    Hey! I’m McLovin the theme change 😀

  7. unabridgedgirl says:

    Awesome new layout. PS I just noticed the zombie kitties. LMAO

  8. Love the kitty pic! Love the list! And a new layout! I love all of these movies, but especially Evil Dead (b/c of my Bruce Campbell obsession), Hocus Pocus, and Beetlejuice (Kiefer was Beetlejuice last year for Halloween).

    I have a Halloween costume, but I’m considering a last-minute switcharoo to Freddy Krueger.

    • TonyVote says:

      I’m glad you loved the kitty pic and the list, what do you think of the layout? Beetle Juice is actually one of my favorite movies of all time. I remember crying a little when they started to make the newly weds become old and start to crumble. probably one of the saddest moments of my childhood.

  9. lessthanv says:

    Great list and I’m loving the inclusion of Beetle Juice! Although ‘Scream’ also makes great Halloween viewing.

Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

