How to Make the Perfect Halloween Mix Tape


A day or two ago, I reached a milestone, 2,222 hits on my blog. With this post, I reach another milestone, my 50th post! So, to celebrate, I invited Amy, from Fix It or Deal, to be my very first guest blogger. She’s decided to follow my recent theme of Halloween with her Halloween Mix Tape. Amy, I am overjoyed! I love the post and just want to thank you, so much, for guest blogging over at All Phun and Games!

Tony, thank you so much for inviting me to be a guest blogger. This is the first time I have been bestowed this honor and I hope I don’t blow it.
On that note, here we go!

Halloween Mix Tape

So, you want to have a Halloween party? You’ve got snacks, foam tombstones are in the yard, pumpkins carved and loaded with candles and the fog machine is all juiced up. What about music? You can’t hook up your iPod and blast the same Slow Jamz playlist you use for every other party. Music is just as important to the Halloween atmosphere as black lights and that fake spider web crap.

Now, you can’t just put Monster Mash and The Addams Family theme on constant rotation (I think your party goers would stab you and bury you under one of your foam tombstones). Following are a few suggestions from multiple musical genres to get you started. (Disclaimer: I am old. So, these songs are, too.)

Dead Man’s Party – Oingo Boingo: Classic party song and it’s got the dead guy element in it so, there’s that. Plus, I just love me some Oingo Boingo.

I Put a Spell On You – Creedence Clearwater Revival: Excellent, creepy, jangly guitars in this song.

Black Sabbath – Black Sabbath: The rain and the bells in the beginning make it sound like you are starring in your own horror movie. Then the guitars kick in with a chord progression that’s known as The Devil’s Third, which was forbidden to be played during the Middle Ages because people thought it was evil. And that just officially exhausted all my musical knowledge.

Warewolves of London – Warren Zevon: A must for any Halloween party. Arwoooooo!

Ghost Town – The Specials: A fun song with awesome spooky vocals and some organ music, too.

Dracula – Gorillaz: The song is called Dracula. That’s all.

Anything by White Zombie: When all else fails just play any White Zombie song or whole CD. I know that Rob Zombie isn’t the Devil, but I’m pretty sure he has the Dark One on speed dial.

This is by no means a comprehensive (or well researched) list, but I hope it will give you some ideas. Just take what you’ve learned here and apply it to songs that were recorded after Ke$ha discovered glitter.

Happy Halloween everyone!

For some new Halloween-esque tunes, be sure to check out my newer post as well, A Few Spooky Tunes

Comments
13 Responses to “How to Make the Perfect Halloween Mix Tape”
  1. Amy says:

    You are rad, Tony! Thank you!

  2. White Zombie is great for Halloween. I Put a Spell On You is good, too. It always makes me think of Bette Midler in Hocus Pocus.

  3. m, that's it says:

    Devil Went Down to Georgia (no pun “Fix It”), Charlie Daniels. Something about the way he wings out on the guitar puts chills up my spine.

  4. dougbrowncreative says:

    I find that Dueling Banjos tends to give people the heebs at Halloween. But only if they’ve seen Deliverance. It’s a nasty thing to play at a party. hee hee

  5. You know, I never much thought of a Halloween mix [tape] but then again I am SO BAD at those kinds of things. Being of the female gender this should stereotypically be my “thing” right? Well I’m not really good at that. 😦 I don’t even usually do the Halloween decor which reminds me I need to remind my other half to get on that! 🙂

    • TonyVote says:

      haha, stereotype shmereotype. My wife and I have switched roles on lots of the things we do that make us work. It’s not a bad thing, don’t worry. Like Amy said, “Music is just as important to the Halloween atmosphere as black lights and that fake spider web crap.”

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my guest post here and be sure to stay and read Tony’s posts, […]

  2. […] hard to follow Amy‘s guest post “How to Make the Perfect Halloween Mix Tape” but I’m gonna give it a shot. Seen or heard any spooky tunes lately? Let me know, but […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

