Slightly Distraught


For this week or two until the World Series ends, all 4 Major American sports will be active at the same time. These few weeks are the only time it happens all year-long. NBA(basketball) just started it’s regular season, NFL(football) is entering Week 8 on Sunday, NHL(hockey) has also just started their regular season, while MLB(baseball) is in it’s championship round, the World Series. While there are a few days while all 4 sports are active, there is never a period where none of them are active. Often time’s though, I consider hockey season to be an inactive period for me because I haven’t been a true hockey fan in such a long time. I’m more of a football or baseball type of guy. Although, once football is over and there are no sports on the tele, I’ll probably find myself watching a basketball game if there’s one on.

Last night was an exception to this. Due to the Philadelphia Phillies and the New York Yankees are not involved in this year’s World Series, and I have little interest in the two teams involved, I decided to skip watching the World Series last night and flipped on NBA on ESPN. I probably would’ve watched the World Series of Poker before I watched the World Series of Baseball last night. I later realized that my choice was a fallacy. The Texas Rangers scored early, but then the San Fransisco Giants came back. The Giants then took a commanding 8-2 lead. Which lead to the Rangers bringing it close but falling short of the victory 11-7. I could imagine that it was an interesting game to watch. That’s still not enough to get me interested in Game 2 though. I’m not a phan of either of these teams.

 

 

Painted Phillies Jersey

 

As most of you probably know, I am a phan of all things Philly, well, to my knowledge at least. The Philadelphia Phillies are no exception. I won’t go bad mouthing my Phillies, however, just because they got knocked out of the playoff’s 1 game before the championship. I stood by them through the 90’s where the only World Series they were in was Arnold Schwarzenegger’d by Joe Carter and the Toronto Blue Jays. I also was along for the ride when during their successful climb to becoming one of the best dynasties in MLB history. As a matter of fact, right around this time two years ago I celebrated wildly as the Phillies won their first championship in my existence.

Am I upset the Philadelphia Phillies didn’t make it to the World Series and play the New York Yankees like everyone thought they would? You bet your bottom dollar, I am.

Comments
2 Responses to “Slightly Distraught”
  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh says:

    A+++++ I am now a Phillies fan! đŸ™‚

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI probably would’ve watched the World Series of Poker before I watched the World Series of Baseball last night. I later realized that my choice was a fallacy. The Texas Rangers scored early, but then the San Fransisco Giants came back. … […]



Leave a Reply

  • 20Something Blogger

